Cluster of ExcellenceNews
Dr. Michael Zopf erhält Quantum Future Award 2020

Dr. Michael Zopf receives Quantum Future Award 2020

In 2020, the Federal Ministry of Education and Research has again awarded prizes for outstanding PhD and master's theses in the field of quantum technologies. The final round and the announcement of the winners took place virtually on 6 November.

Dr. Michael Zopf from Prof Fei Ding's research group won first place with his PhD thesis "Semiconductor-generated entangled photons for hybrid quantum networks".

The results of the dissertation are the basis for further research within the framework of QuantumFrontiers.

Since 2018, the BMBF has been honouring outstanding and innovative scientific work with clear application relevance in the field of quantum technologies with this Quantum Future Award. The award is announced in the categories Master's and PhD theses.

In addition to Dr. Michael Zopf, Ashwin Rajagopalan from the Institute of Quantum Optics at Leibniz University was also successful in the award. He reached the final round with his Master's thesis.