Berthold Leibinger Innovationspreis für Henning Vahlbruch und Benno Willke

Berthold Leibinger Innovationspreis for Henning Vahlbruch and Benno Willke

© Berthold Leibinger Stiftung
1st prize in the Berthold Leibinger Innovationspreis 2023 for Henning Vahlbruch, Benno Willke, and Hartmut Grote (from left to right).

First prize for high-precision laser sources in gravitational-wave astronomy

The first prize of this year's Innovationspreis of the Berthold Leibinger Stiftung goes to QuantumFrontiers members Henning Vahlbruch and Benno Willke. The researchers from Leibniz Universität Hannover and the Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics (Albert Einstein Institute) receive the award together with Harmut Grote from Cardiff University for their work on “ultra-high precision beam sources not only for basic research”. The award includes 50,000 Euros of prize money.

The working groups of the award-winning research team play an important role in this rapid progress. They are driving innovative developments in laser physics for gravitational-wave detectors: the extremely precise stabilization of high-power laser sources at different wavelengths and beam shapes, the generation and control of squeezed coherent vacuum states, and novel techniques for the application of squeezed light. In QuantumFrontiers, they share this expertise in the Topical Groups Non-Classical Light and Laser Development and Stabilisation for Next-Generation Gravitational Wace Detectors, which they lead.

Every two years, the Berthold Leibinger Innovationspreis honors innovations in laser technology. From all the applications and nominations, a jury of experts will initially select eight finalists and ultimately three award winners.

Further information:

Press release of the Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics

Website of the Innovationspreis of the Berthold Leibinger Stiftung